December 7th: Ebbw Vale 10 Merthyr 34

HOME > December 7th: Ebbw Vale 10 Merthyr 34

Ebbw Vale’s largely experimental squad – 18 of the 23 were on permit – gave an excellent account of themselves against a strong Merthyr team in the Fosters Challenge Cup at ECP on Wednesday night. On a damp but surprisingly mild evening the two teams served up some entertaining rugby for the small crowd, but the Ironmen proved stronger than the Steelmen on this occasion. Ebbw’s scores came from an interception try by Jordan Howells, converted by Jeremy Roberts (Ynysddu) who also added a penalty. Many thanks to the following clubs who allowed their players to represent Ebbw Vale, we are very grateful to them for their assistance and cooperation: Abertillery/Blaenau Gwent RFC, Brynmawr RFC, Glamorgan Wanderers RFC, Newport Gwent Dragons, Newport Saracens RFC, Penallta RFC, Pontypool United RFC, Rogerstone RFC, Usk RFC, Ynysddu RFC and Ynysybwl RFC.

15 Jonathan Lewis (Glamorgan Wanderers)
14 Ryan Gardner
13 Jordan Howells
12 Dale Tucker (Newport Saracens)
11 Kier Hughes (Brynmawr)
10 Jeremy Roberts (Ynysddu)
9 Dai Jones (captain)
1 Joel Harries (Newport Gwent Dragons)
2 Jonny Bowen
3 Josh James
4 Adam Lane (Brynmawr)
5 Christian Francis (Glamorgan Wanderers)
6 Jonathan Davies (Ynysddu)
7 Dawid Rubasniak (Newport Gwent Dragons)
8 Ben Papp (Usk)

16 David Wall (Brynmawr)
17 Stefan Blackmore (Brynmawr)
18 Lloyd Bridges (Penallta)
19 Macauley Griffiths (Ynysybwl)
20 Luke Prankerd (Rogerstone)
21 Curtis Gregory (Pontypool Utd)
22 Aled Penn (Abertillery/Blaenau Gwent)
23 Stefan Thomas (Ynysddu)

Leave a Reply


Ebbw Vale Side To Play Cardiff 

Ebbw Vale Side To Play Cardiff  Your Steelmen squad to take on Cardiff this Thursday at Cardiff Arms Park with a 7:30pm kick off in the Indigo Welsh Premiership. Lets have a vocal Ebbw following to shout on the boy’s! The fixture will be shown LIVE on the S4C facebook and youtube channels  Covid guidelines […]

Read More