Club Awards

HOME > Club Awards

Club Awards

A very enjoyable dinner was held on Friday night to mark the end of the 2016-17 season and to present the various awards. Joe Franchi’s excellent season was recognised by the supporters and his teammates as he scooped the Denzil Williams Players’ Player of the Year and Ebbw Addicts’ Player of the Year. Jon Davies, who joined from Ynysddu RFC mid-season, took the Addicts’ Most Promising Player prize.
Rhys Clarke was named as the Clive Burgess Man of Steel, and he and Chris Thomas received caps to mark 100 appearances since joining from Penallta RFC.

The Addicts chose Damien Hudd as their Ivor Evans Clubman of the Year, and he also received the Gareth Howls Captain’s Award. He and Gethin Robinson, who retired at the end of the campaign, were recipients of Special Awards.

Volunteer of the Year was club pastor the Reverend Geoff Waggett, an ever present figure over many seasons.

the irrepressible Ronny Kynes again bagged the Try Scorer award and Bath bound Josh Lewis was Highest Points Scorer.

Many congratulations to all the winners, and to the volunteers and Welfare staff who worked so hard to make the evening such a success.

(Photographs will be added later.)

Leave a Reply


Super Rygbi Cymru Officially Launched

Welsh rugby is about to undergo the biggest structural shake-up since the introduction of Regional rugby in 2003 with the creation of the 10-team Super Rygbi Cymru. Following 9 months of […]

Read More